March 1, 2021

MaxYield Seed IMCA Northern SportMod Nationals “Topless” in 2016

Nick Meyer, Whittemore, IA, was the 2015 SportMod Nationals winner. MaxYield's Matt Keel joins him in victory lane.

Nick Meyer, Whittemore, IA, was the 2015 SportMod Nationals winner. MaxYield’s Matt Keel joins him in victory lane.

$4000 possible to win, $200 to start

+++Updated to reflect improved race purse!

Officials with the Hancock County Speedway announced today that MaxYield Seed will once again be title sponsor of the annual IMCA Northern SportMod Nationals held at the Britt, IA track. The event will be presented on June 21st by Croplan, DeKalb/Asgrow and Latham Hi-Tech Seeds.

The speedway also announced that for the first time Northern SportMods will compete with the roofs and sail panels removed from the cars.

“We are pleased to have the support of MaxYield Seed and their partners for the SportMod Nationals,” said track promoter Joe Ringsdorf. “The fans are in for a treat with the event being ‘topless.’ Fans will be able to watch the drivers more closely, and the cars look awesome without the roofs on.”

Ringsdorf also stated that the race purse structure has been improved too. “The event in 2016 will pay $2500 guaranteed to win. Just like last year, the SportMod Nationals winner can collect $500 bonuses for racing at least six times at Britt, collecting a feature win, and for perfect attendance, making the top spot worth $4000 in possible prize money.

Race purse highlights include second earning $1200, third place paying $1000, fifth place worth $700, tenth place earns $500 and the event pays $200 to start. “The purse from the seventh position through last place has been increased over last year,” Ringsdorf added.

The winner of the DeKalb/Asgrow Dash, which determines the starting order of the top qualifiers, earns $200, while the Croplan by WinField Hard Charger Award nets $100 to the driver advancing the most positions from their original starting spot in the main event. Top finishers in the Latham Hi-Tech Seed Last Chance Qualifiers earn their way into the championship feature.

The main event will be 30 laps in length, with no scheduled pit stop at halfway, and starts 24 cars.

The 2016 edition of the IMCA Northern SportMod Nationals will take place Tuesday, June 21st.

Whittemore, Iowa’s Nick Meyer was last year’s winner of the event and the six-foot tall trophy.

Other past winners include Tim Donlinger – 2007, Nate Chodur – 2008, 2010, 2013, Adam Ackerman – 2009, Doug Smith – 2011, Matt Lettow – 2012, and Aaron Benson in 2014.

More information about the Hancock County Speedway and MaxYield Seed can be found at and

Share Your Thoughts